For every right reason, educators are often considered the unsung heroes of our society. They play a vital role in shaping the future by imparting knowledge and nurturing the minds of our youth. Bibb County recognizes the significance of educators and celebrates the outstanding work of our teachers by awarding “Teachers of the Year.” In 2023-2024, these remarkable educators have been acknowledged for their dedication and hard work, in and out of the classroom.  

Elementary Teachers of the Year 

  • Jason Leach – West Blocton Middle School 
  • Victoria Turner – Centreville Middle School 
  • Karmen Deerman – Randolph Elementary School 
  • Elizabeth Burroughs – Brent Elementary School 
  • Katelyn Averett – West Blocton Elementary School 
  • Jessica Hicks – Woodstock Elementary School 


Secondary Teachers of the Year 

  • Phillip Peek – Bibb County High School 
  • Darel McKinney – Bibb County Career Academy 
  • Amy Elmore – West Blocton High School 
  • Meg Cappelli – West Blocton Middle School 
  • Cortney Underwood – Centreville Middle School 


Teachers are the heart and soul of the classroom. They inspire, motivate, and empower their students to achieve their full potential. The Teachers of the Year in Bibb County are not only academically accomplished but also dedicated to creating a nurturing and inclusive learning environment for their students. 

Teaching is far more than just a job; it’s a calling. The dedication and sacrifices made by educators are often underestimated. Many teachers, like these Teachers of the Year, go above and beyond their duties, working tirelessly to ensure the success of their students. Their commitment to the future of their students is truly commendable and should be celebrated by the whole community. 

Teachers do more than just impart knowledge; they inspire future leaders, innovators, and problem solvers. The Teachers of the Year in Bibb County are doing just that, instilling a sense of curiosity, critical thinking, and a passion for learning in their students. These are the qualities that will shape the leaders of tomorrow, in Bibb County and beyond. 

The “Teachers of the Year” program in Bibb County serves as a wonderful example of acknowledging and appreciating the hard work and dedication of educators. It reminds us of the importance of recognizing and celebrating the individuals who are shaping the future of our society. 

Teachers are the pillars of our society, and their tireless efforts often go unnoticed. The Teachers of the Year in Bibb County for 2023-2024 stand as shining examples of the dedication and hard work that educators invest in their students. They inspire, mentor, and empower the leaders of tomorrow, and they deserve our heartfelt appreciation and gratitude. As we congratulate these exceptional teachers, let’s remember to appreciate all teachers for their valuable contributions to not only our communities, but also the whole world.