Montgomery, AL, November 30, 2023 – Alabama Senate leadership announced today that it has made new appointments to several Senate Standing Committees for the remaining 2023-2026 quadrennium.

Senator April Weaver (R-Brierfield) will serve as the Chairperson of the Confirmations Committee; Senator Sam Givhan (R-Huntsville) will serve on the committee for Finance & Taxation Education; and Senator Keith Kelley (R-Anniston) will serve on the Rules Committee.

“I am pleased with the appointments of Senators Weaver, Givhan, and Kelley to their respective committees,” said Senator Greg Reed, President Pro Tempore of the Alabama Senate. “These senators have proven they can handle some of the most significant pieces of legislation that has passed during my time in the Alabama Senate. I am grateful for their willingness to serve in this new capacity and look forward to the work we are doing to continue making Alabama the best place in the country to call home.”

“The appointments of Senators Weaver, Givhan, and Kelley to their new assignments today is a great step for the Republican caucus and the Senate body as a whole,” said Senator Steve Livingston, Majority Leader of the Alabama Senate. “These senators have demonstrated an ability and willingness to not only serve their constituents in their respective districts well, but also the state of Alabama as a whole. These senators have the utmost respect and trust of our caucus members and will help us navigate advancing significant legislation.”

Senator April Weaver was elected to serve Alabama’s 14th Senate District representing Shelby, Bibb, and Chilton Counties in July 2021. She served in the House of Representatives from 2010-2020, representing Alabama’s 49th District. Following her service in the House, Weaver was appointed by President Donald Trump as regional director of the United States Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) for Region IV. She also serves as the Vice Chair of the Fiscal Responsibility & Economic Development Committee along with being a member of the Rules, Finance & Taxation General Fund, Judiciary, Transportation & Energy, and Healthcare Committees.

“The men and women who come before the Senate Confirmations Committee will serve on boards and commissions that affect the lives of millions of Alabamians,” said Senator Weaver. “Our committee must ensure that the individuals we confirm are qualified, committed, and represent the values of Alabama and its citizens, and it is a responsibility that I take seriously.”

Senator Sam Givhan was elected in 2018 to represent Senate District 7, which is located in Madison County. Senator Givhan serves as Chairman of the Madison County Local Legislation Committee, Chairman of the Joint Legislative Council, and Vice Chair of the Judiciary Committee. He also serves on the Senate Rules, Finance & Taxation General Fund, Confirmations, Judiciary, Fiscal Responsibility, & Economic Development, Healthcare, Veterans, Military Affairs, & Public Safety, Energy Council Committees and is a member of the Joint Transportation Committee.

“I look forward to the opportunity to help shape both of our budgets,” said Senator Givhan. “It is important that we continue with responsible budgets that provide practical solutions for Alabama’s future. I am excited about serving in this new capacity and know that we will continue working hard to make Alabama the best place to raise a family.”

Senator Keith Kelley was elected in 2022 to represent Senate District 12, which is located in Calhoun and Talladega Counties. Senator Kelley also serves on the Finance and Taxation General Fund, state Governmental Affairs, Children & Youth Health, Veterans, Military Affairs, & Public Safety Committees.

“I am honored to be appointed to the rules committee and appreciate the confidence placed in me,” said Senator Kelley. “I take this responsibility very seriously and look forward to working alongside the chairman in accomplishing much success in the upcoming session.”

Senators Weaver, Givhan, and Kelley will begin their new assignments at the start of the next regular legislative session on February 6th.