In a close runoff race challenger Kevin Cotner defeated incumbent Duane Mcgee with 1,699 total votes to McGee’s 1,371 votes.

Voter turnout was low in the runoff election with the BOE race the only county contest. Only 22.5% of Bibb County registered voters came to the polls to cast a ballot.

Cotner will now face a challenge from Independent candidate Steve Morgan in the November general election and will be on the ballot as the GOP candidate after winning the GOP primary.

Election results are not official until the results are certified to the Secretary of State 7 days after the election takes place.

In the statewide races Katie Britt took 58% of the Bibb County votes for Senator over Mo Brooks. Wes Allen took 74% of the votes for Secretary of State. Only a single vote seperated Stan Cooke from Andrew Sorrell in the State Auditor race. Jeremy Oden 54% over Brent Woodall for Public Service Commission Place 1, Chip Beeker over Robert McCollum with 70% of the vote for Place 2 of the PSC.